Statutes of limitations are time limits set by each government’s legal code on how long a claimant must launch a legal complaint. Different types of claims have different deadlines, with defamation being the shortest. Limitations on lawsuits are put in place to protect the credibility of witnesses and proof and to prevent litigants from using the persistent danger of a suit as blackmail. Read this article to know more about the Michigan statute of limitation.
Statute of Limitations Michigan
The statutes of limitations in Michigan are the same as in most other states. For instance, an attorney may have a decade to submit most criminal penalties but only a year to register criminal charges. There is no time constraint on filing a court charge for homicide, and the statute of limitations for other violent offenses is much extended. The prosecution is given additional time to file a lawsuit when the statute of limitations is “tolled” (suspended).
In this short outline, we will look at many criminal charges that can be filed and the statute of limitations that applies to each.
You May Also Like: Statute of Limitations Ohio
Statute of Limitation For Sex Crime Charges
The statute of limitations for filing charges for several sex crimes is over six years. Most sex crimes in Michigan should be reported within ten years. The following are examples of sex crimes for which the statute of limitations is extended:
- Sex Crimes of the Second, Third, and Fourth Degree
- Intention to Execute a Sexual Offense Rape
- The exploitation of Children for Sexual Purposes
Statute of Limitation for Murder
- There is a 10-year statute of limitations on indictments for Murder with premeditation; if crime is reported to authorities within one year of its commission and perpetrator is unidentified, accusation can be brought a decade after the perpetrator is discovered.
- There is a 10-year statute of limitations for premeditated manslaughter. Still, suppose the crime is signaled to the authorities within a year, and the perpetrator is unidentified. In that case, an accusation can be filed ten years after the perpetrator is found.
- There is a 10-year statute of limitations for manslaughter. However, an accusation can be brought ten years after perpetrator is discovered if the crime is notified to law enforcement within a year of the incident.
Statute of Limitation for Human Trafficking
- Human smuggling legislation carries a mandatory life sentence without parole. The “Theresa Flores’ Law” (which criminalizes human trafficking) sets the maximum sentence for such an offense at two and a half decades.
- The statute of limitations for a charge of female genital mutilation, transportation of an individual with the intent of female genital mutilation, or assistance of such an act is ten years or the date the accused person becomes twenty-one, whichever is later.
Michigan Statute of Limitation for Criminal Assault
- The statute of limitations for a second-degree crime of sexual acts is ten years or the age of most of the claimed victims, whichever comes first.
- The statute of limitations on third-degree illegal promiscuity is ten years or the age of most of the accused complainants, whichever is later.
- The statute of limitations for fourth-degree criminal sexual conduct is ten years or the age of the most accused complainant.
- The statute of limitations for assault to commit criminal sexual behavior is either ten years or the day the accused plaintiff reaches 21 years.
Statute of Limitation for Kidnapping
There is a decade statute of limitations on Kidnapping. However, an accusation can be lodged ten years after the victim is recognized if authorities investigate the crime within a year.
Statute of Limitation for Extortion
The statute of limitations for abduction is ten years. However, suppose the crime is reported to the police less than a year after its commission, and the perpetrator’s identity is unclear. In that case, an accusation can be brought a decade after the perpetrator is discovered.
Statute of Limitation for Home Invasion
A time limit on filing a criminal complaint after a home invasion
- A first-degree home invasion charge must be filed within ten years of the alleged crime. However, perpetrator can be named upto ten years after the fact if the crime is reported to the police within the first year.
Statute of Limitations for Financial Crimes
The statute of limitations for financial crimes, deceptive suppositions involving real estate, and forgery of a document affecting an interest in actual estate is ten years or within ten years after the document influencing a particularly in real estate was registered.
Statute of Limitation for Federal Crimes
- Most government offenses have a five-year limitation period.
- There is no time limit in the United States federal system for:
- Serious offenses that carry the death penalty
- Attacks by terrorists that cause death or serious harm
- Sexual misconduct with a juvenile
Also Read: Statute of Limitations Illinois
Exceptions to the Statute of Limitation In Michigan
Most of these due dates are strict and binding regulations.” Still, there are some variations. For example, there is a “tolling” provision for circumstances involving minors. The statute of limitations may be “tolled” or temporarily suspended under Michigan law under specific situations. If you depart Michigan, for instance, you may have more time to file a complaint, as the statute of limitations would’ve been reset for the duration of your absence. This provision only applies if the defendant was out of state when the statute of limitations ran out.
If you frequently travel during the period in question, figuring out whether or not charges were brought inside the statute of limitations can take a lot of work. In this situation, you must work with a competent legal firm, like ours, that can help you prove and demonstrate your citizenship beyond any reasonable question.
It’s important to note that the time restriction for filing a civil lawsuit in Michigan can change specific to the needs of your case. Contact a local lawsuit lawyer if you have questions concerning Michigan’s civil statute of limitations.
How long may a Michigan felony case be open?
The statute of limitations for filing criminal charges in Michigan is relatively short. The statute of limitations for all crimes not explicitly stated in the Michigan Penal Code is six years.
Hi, I’m Brian Gary; I have my Doctor of Juridical Science (SJD) degree from SMU Dedman School of Law in Dallas. Over the years, I have dealt with many families and successful corporate Legal cases. I have counseled many people on legal matters, and along with my profession, I write about Law on my blog. Please feel free to contact me for counseling/case discussion; I’ll be happy to help you.