Each criminal accusation must be taken seriously. Misdemeanor convictions have the same potential penalties as felony convictions, including time in jail, monetary fines, and a lasting mark on one’s criminal record. Prosecution on some Indiana misdemeanor offenses carries significant penalties.
Knowing what kind of misdemeanors are most encountered in Indianapolis can be helpful if you find yourself facing misdemeanor charges. There may need to be more than this information to convince a judge to rule in your favor. Class A Misdemeanor in Indiana has maximum penalty of 1 year jail time and fine up to $5,000.
What is a Class A Misdemeanor in Indiana?
In Indiana, Class A misdemeanors are the most serious type of misdemeanor offense. While they carry less severe penalties than felony charges, they still have significant consequences for those convicted. Class A misdemeanors are punished more harshly than Class B and C misdemeanors, but they are not considered as severe as felony charges.
Convictions for Class A misdemeanors in Indiana can have a profound impact on a person’s life. They can limit access to employment, housing, and certain civil liberties. Therefore, it is essential to seek the assistance of a qualified criminal defense attorney if facing charges for a Class A misdemeanor in Indiana.
Class A Misdemeanor charges can also be implemented on Indiana Age of Consent cases.
Can Class A Misdemeanor Charges in Indiana be Dismiss?
Yes. The State may drop the Class A Misdemeanor charges for several reasons. The State may drop Class A Misdemeanor charges against an individual if crucial witnesses fail to appear. Or recant their statements or if relevant material is withheld, excluded, or proves the defendant’s innocence.
In some cases, the State may agree to drop charges of a Class A Misdemeanor in exchange for a guilty plea to a lower offense, such as a Class B or Class C Misdemeanor. The maximum penalties for each of those Misdemeanors vary.
Moreover, you may be eligible for preliminary diversion, which might result in the discharge of the Class A Misdemeanor criminal charges based on the nature of the incident and your previous history. However, you should consult a competent criminal defense attorney to find out if this is possible in your case; usually, it is only offered to first-time offenders for nonviolent offenses.
A pretrial diversion from your Class A Misdemeanor charges in Indiana is entirely at the discretion of the county prosecutor. Prosecutors in different Indiana counties have different policies on whether or not to give defendants pretrial diversion when facing charges of Class A Misdemeanor.
Also See: Can Misdemeanors Be Expunged?
Indiana Class B Misdemeanors
In Indiana, the second lowest crime category is a Class B Misdemeanor. A Class B Misdemeanor in Indiana is considered a more severe crime than a Class C Misdemeanor but a lesser crime than a Class A Misdemeanor or any felony.
Therefore, Class B Misdemeanors carry more potential punishments than Class C Misdemeanors but fewer possible penalties than all levels of felony offenses. A conviction for a Class B Misdemeanor in Indiana can severely affect a person’s ability to find a gainful job, maintain stable housing, or protect their legal rights.
Do Class C Misdemeanors show up on a Criminal Background check?
It all relies on the organization doing the checking. But in most cases, they do. Even if the crime was only a Class C Misdemeanor, a conviction might make it difficult to find gainful employment or decent living conditions. If this is a problem, you should discuss expungement options with an attorney in Indiana.
Can you buy a Gun with a Misdemeanor Conviction in Indiana?
Many people are also curious whether they may buy a firearm in Indiana after being convicted of a Class A Misdemeanor. However, “it depends” is the standard response. Class A misdemeanor offenses in Indiana often don’t prevent gun ownership or purchase.
But you can’t buy or keep a gun if you’ve been charged with Class A Misdemeanor Domestic Battery. If you were convicted of Domestic Battery and had that conviction expunged, you still wouldn’t be legally able to purchase a firearm legally. Apply to the court under Indiana Code 35-47-4-7 to reinstate your handgun rights if you have been convicted of a Class A Misdemeanor for Domestic Battery. Forget about it until at least five years have passed from the time of the conviction.
Check Also: How To Get Walmart To Drop Shoplifting Charges
How long is the Statute of Limitations for a Class A Misdemeanor in Indiana?
In Indiana, the State has a certain amount of time (known as the “Statute of Limitations”) to either drop criminal charges against a person or bring them to trial. The limitation period in Indiana for Class A Misdemeanors is two years. The clock begins ticking on this deadline as soon as the criminal act ends.
What is the punishment for a Class B misdemeanor in Indiana?
For those who commit a Class B Misdemeanor in Indiana, the maximum penalties are one hundred eighty days in jail and a $1,000 fine.
What is the lowest level of a misdemeanor?
When referring to misdemeanors, “class C” is the lowest degree. A fine or up to 30 days in jail would be the punishment for such infractions.
Hi, I’m Brian Gary; I have my Doctor of Juridical Science (SJD) degree from SMU Dedman School of Law in Dallas. Over the years, I have dealt with many families and successful corporate Legal cases. I have counseled many people on legal matters, and along with my profession, I write about Law on my blog. Please feel free to contact me for counseling/case discussion; I’ll be happy to help you.